Bioethics News

CHARLIE GARD: 37 European deputies stand against the European Court of Human Rights decision

In an open letter, 37 Eurodeputies support Charlie Gard and his parents and demand the respect of the right to live (see original letter signed at Strasbourg and titled, Charlie Gard must be given right to life, human dignity)

After the decision of the British Courts and of the European Court of Human Rights, the support provided by parenteral respiratory, nutrition and hydration assistance to Charlie Gard, the 10-months-old baby suffering from mitochondrial encephalopathy, can be suspended. This will lead to the certain death of the child. 37 European deputies[1]  have signed an open letter to express their “concern about the scandalous outcome of Charlie’s case, which violates the most fundamental European values, in particular, the right to live, the right to human dignity and to personal integrity”. In this case, they denounce “the approval of the successive courts to interrupt his supportive care, including nutrition and hydration”, ending with the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR), last recourse for Charlie Gard’s parents.

The European signatory deputies condemn a shameful behaviour which violates “the values of our civilised society” when a country “does not act in the best interest of its people”. They have committed themselves to oppose such practices with a firm “no”. (Genethiques informs you)

Eurodeputies stand against European Court of Human Rights names,

[1] The signatory deputies: Miroslav Mikolášik MEP, Luigi Morgano MEP, Laurentiu Rebega MEP, Laima Andrikiene MEP, Elisabetta Gardini MEP, Ivan Štefanec MEP, Lara Comi MEP, Marijana Petir MEP, Lorenzo Fontana MEP, Nicola Caputo MEP, Tunne Kelam MEP, Marek Jurek MEP, Beatrix von Storch MEP, Franc Bogovič MEP, Patricija Šulin MEP, Pavel Svoboda MEP, György Hölvenyi MEP, Michal Boni MEP, Jan Olbrycht MEP, Zbigniew Kuzmiuk MEP, Jadwiga Wiśniewska MEP, Thomas Mann MEP, Annie Schreijer-Pierik MEP, Daniela Aiuto MEP, Alojz Peterle MEP, Branislav Škripek MEP, Enrico Gasbarra MEP, Anna Záborská MEP, Arne Gericke MEP, Steven Woolfe MEP, Mylene Troszczynski MEP, Lars Adaktusson MEP, Remo Sernagiotto MEP, József Nagy MEP, Pál Csáky MEP Marek Plura MEP, Robert Jaroslaw Iwaszkiewicz MEP.

The views, opinions and positions expressed by these authors and blogs are theirs and do not necessarily represent that of the Bioethics Research Library and Kennedy Institute of Ethics or Georgetown University.