Bioethics Blogs

Dr. Celia B. Fisher to give webinar on the ethical conduct of clinical psychology

Decoding

Dr. Celia B. Fisher’s widely-cited book on the APA Ethics Code.

ABCT CE Webinar
Friday, January 30, 2015
11am – 12:30pm EST / 10 – 11:30am CST / 9 – 10:30 am MST / 8 – 9:30am PST

1.5 CE credits ($30 members/$45 nonmembers)

Title:  Doing Good Well: The Ethical Conduct of Clinical Psychology

Level: Intermediate (working knowledge of topic area e.g., treated a few cases)

Presenter and Affiliation: Celia B. Fisher, Ph.D., Marie Ward Doty University Endowed Chair, Professor of Psychology, Director of the Fordham University Center for Ethics Education, Fordham University

Abstract:
The primary purpose of this webinar is to provide a practical guide to the meaning and applicability of the APA’s Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct to the professional practice of psychology. The webinar will put into practical perspective the rational behind and application of ethical standards to the broad spectrum of professional roles and activities of psychologists using clear examples of behaviors that would be in compliance with or in violation of enforceable standards.  Using case examples the workshop is intended to assist psychologists in effectively using the Ethics Code to address new ethical challenges that continue to emerge in the rapidly changing new technologies, evidence-based practice competencies, cultural landscape, and health care law.

This workshop is designed to help you:

1.     Develop informed consent and confidentiality policies for clinical work involving children, adolescents, and adults with serious mental disorders,

2.     Identify and successfully navigate ethical issues in the use of social media, mobile health and web-based technologies in treatment, assessment, billing and record keeping.

The views, opinions and positions expressed by these authors and blogs are theirs and do not necessarily represent that of the Bioethics Research Library and Kennedy Institute of Ethics or Georgetown University.